Big red sandals

The Monster in Your Closet

You know the straw that broke the camel’s back?

I feel like I’m living one straw from a broken back these days.

One little straw shifts on my back and I have to rebalance everything. That seemingly tiny change demands care, precision, time and energy to address, leaving me gasping and stumbling as I try to carry the weight of that shifted burden.

Today several minute strands shifted at once. Though unlikely perceptible from the outside, I felt it keenly. I wept as I tried figuring out how to shift my balance enough to keep standing.

A box was waiting on my doorstep when I got home.

In the box, the pair of big red sandals I mentioned buying in my post “Little red sandals.”

I put them on and smiled.

I have carried many heavy loads on my back since I outgrew my little red sandals. And…

View original post 46 more words

Leave a Reply

